A Conversation with Distinguished Professor Evans

Meet the People of Zarb: RMI Distinguished Professor Joel R. Evans

[Note: This is one in a series of posts to highlight the people who contribute to making the Zarb School of Business a special place.]

Here is our Q&A with Dr. Evans, one of the Zarb School’s distinguished professors.

  • Could you describe your educational, academic, and professional background.

My undergraduate degree is from Queens College, where I majored in Economics. After earning my BA, I worked for a firm in the garment industry that is now defunct. [It was not my fault.] My MBA is from Baruch College, where I majored in Business Administration and Policy. My Ph.D. is from the City University of New York Graduate Center, where I majored in Marketing and Public Policy.

While at Hofstra, I have been involved in many roles – with teaching my first passion. Among the positions that I have held are Acting Dean for Distance Learning, Associate Dean of the Business School, Chairperson of the Department of Marketing and International Business, and Co-director of the Retail Management Institute and the Business Research Institute. Currently, I oversee the Zarb School’s social media activities and serve as the Blogger-in-Chief for the School’s official blog: Zarb Means Business.

Outside of Hofstra, I have consulted  in two main areas: as a Marketing Consultant to small and large firms, and as a Legal Expert (writing many expert reports and testifying in court).

  • What are your major areas of teaching and research interest?

Currently, I teach Principles of Marketing (at the BBA level), Product Innovation and Management and Strategic Decisions for Online Marketing in a Global Marketplace (both at the MBA level), and Capstone Research Integration Project (at the EMBA level). Over the years, I have also taught undergraduate and/or graduate courses in Consumer Behavior, Marketing Research, Marketing Strategy, and Sports and Entertainment Marketing, as well as various thesis/honors projects.

My research has been published in such journals as Industrial Marketing Management, Internet Research, Marketing Education Review, and the International Review of Retail, Distribution and Consumer Research. Two of my articles have been very widely cited: “The Value of Online Surveys” (co-authored with Anil Mathur) and “The Relationship Marketing Process: A Conceptualization and Application” (co-authored with Richard Laskin).

I am now working on various social media marketing projects. This is an area where my teaching and research have a strong interface. Self branding is another topic with which I am very involved. I am also proud to have two highly popular personal blogs (which are read around the world): Evans on Marketing and Retailing: From A to Z by Joel Evans.

With Barry Berman, I have co-authored textbooks in Marketing and Retail Management. These books are both in their twelfth edition, have been used worldwide, and have been translated into multiple languages.

  • What is your philosophy with regard to the three major goals for ZSOB faculty: teaching, research, and service?

Teaching: I believe we educate best by engaging our students and complementing the principles and theories of our subject matter with examples related to the students. I am old (LOL); they are young; so, it is imperative that they see me trying to engage on their level. This means using a lot of multimedia tools to stimulate interest; and I use Hofstra’s photo rosters to help me better identify individual students. I also think that humor can drive home the points I am trying to convey. By writing my textbooks and blogs, I am current by tracking the hot events of the time.

Research: To me, this is a lifetime calling. But, while I have written a lot of journal articles – and am still active in this area, I also have made applied presentations at professional, academic, and student conferences and other events. Because social media and self branding have been passions for me, I have both written about these topics and made various presentations on them. I have also served on the editorial boards of various academic journals. It is interesting to see early on what others are researching.

Service: I view service as essential to being a good citizen of the Hofstra University and Zarb School communities. Since joining Hofstra, I have always been involved in service activities. I have chaired committees, advised student clubs, and done  a lot more. Over the years, I have represented Hofstra through hundreds of media interviews – including TV, radio, print media, and the Internet – and personal appearances.

  • Please describe some of your accomplishments while at the Zarb School.

I am honored to have been recognized with the RMI Distinguished Professorship in Business. And it was great that three generations of my family were there to see my induction ceremony.

I was the principal researcher and author for four AACSB self-study reports. During this period, we gained initial graduate accreditation and were re-accredited four times on the undergraduate level. Today, the Zarb School is one of a few business programs to have earned undergraduate, graduate, and Accounting accreditation. Go Zarb!

I am the founding chief blogger for the Zarb School Blog (Zarb Means Business) and help with the School’s Facebook and Twitter pages. I founded and still run the Department of Marketing and International Business LinkedIn group, which now has more than 1,475 members. My Evans on Marketing blog serves as the official Marketing blog for my Department.

Since teaching is so important to me, it was humbling to be chosen as the MBA Teacher of the Year several years ago. And last and not least, I am thrilled to have been able to maintain strong relationships with many former students. I cherish these relationships.

  • How have you seen the Zarb School change over the years?

When I joined Hofstra, the Business School had only three departments, the PC did not exist (let alone the Internet), the dormitories only consisted of the Towers, most students lived locally, and we had a limited number of undergraduate and graduate programs. Today, the Zarb School is a vibrant, well known, and progressive place. We have modern teaching facilities, strong computer and online resources, many housing options, a beautiful campus, and a diverse student body. Through our five departments, our programs have expanded dramatically to meet demand.

  • What is something most people don’t know about you?

Despite lessons and playing numerous rounds, I could be the worst golfer of all time (or close to the worst). I still have the ability to swing and miss the ball entirely. There have been occasions where, out of frustration, I have stopped playing in mid-round and walked the course with my friends the rest of the way. Boo on me! 😦

  • Any final thoughts?

I wouldn’t trade my career for any other one. It’s been a wonderful ride. I look forward to many years ahead.

 

One thought on “A Conversation with Distinguished Professor Evans

  1. Larry Wurzel

    Dr Evans was the best professor I had (class of ’77). He forces students to engage and made class interesting. He cares about his students and pushes them to meet their potential. I now know to challenge him to a round of golf.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

