Zarb Professors Are Active in Many Ways

Yes, Zarb School professors are very good teachers, well-known scholars, and involved in the Zarb and Hofstra communities. But, some of our professors are active in other, more unusual ways.

One example is Victor Lopez, an Associate Professor in the Department of Accounting, Taxation and Legal Studies in Business. He has written a short story collection called Mindscapes: Ten Science Fiction and Speculative Fiction Short Stories. This book was just released in an audio format.

As Professor Lopez stated:

This is not related to my professional area of research, but there is much more to us as faculty than lecturers, researchers, and authors in our field. I was pleased and grateful when one of my articles was cited by the U.S. Supreme Court in the spring, having been previously cited by another federal court, elevating what was already a first-tier article. But I am no less proud of my book of poems or my book of short stories which are also at the core of who I am — not just as a Hofstra Professor but as a person. My liberal arts roots run very deep; and though these publications have no impact on my professional credentials, research, or value to the Zarb School, they are at the core of who I am and help me balance my ‘real’ peer-reviewed work such as the research I am currently conducting on usury laws in all 50 states that was the core of my summer activity.”

 

Leave a Reply

