A Conversation with Zarb’s Director of Outreach Salama

Meet the People of Zarb: Director of Outreach Patricia Salama

[Note: This is one in a series of posts to highlight the people who contribute to making the Zarb School of Business a special place.]

Here is our Q&A with Director of Outreach Salama.

Patricia Salama

    • What does your job at the Zarb School as Director of Outreach encompass?

As Director of Outreach, my responsibilities vary quite a bit. I organize numerous events for the Zarb School. Last semester alone, we held over 47 events. I also produce all publications for Zarb, including our Zarb newsletter which is published twice a year. In addition, my role encompasses maintenance of our over 450 -age Web site and social media pages. We also work closely with student leadership on their many initiatives throughout the academic year. The favorite aspect of my position is getting to know our students, as they continue to impress me through their tenacity and drive to excel.

  • What is your proudest accomplishment as Director of Outreach?

My proudest accomplishment would have to be creating new experiential learning opportunities for students that really have a lasting impact on their Zarb experience. Last semester, we visited Google Headquarters in New York City which was an amazing trip. It also puts a huge smile on my face when I see students reading our newsletter and looking for their photos.

  • What message do you have for the constituencies with whom you interact in this job?

Truly love what you do, and when you achieve that, you will never feel like you have worked a day in your life. Never give up on your dreams, and don’t let anyone talk you out of them either.

  • You have started teaching as an adjunct at the Zarb School. How is that going?

Teaching as an adjunct professor is really a full circle moment for me here at Zarb. Being able to give back to students what the Zarb School has given me over the years has been extremely fulfilling. Just to think that I am now teaching in a classroom that I sat in as a student really makes you appreciate the value of a Zarb education. I can certainly relate to them and try to give real-world perspectives by analyzing current marketing promotions and campaigns with them.

  • You earned both a BBA and MS at the Zarb School. What were your majors and favorite courses?

I completed my BBA and MS at the Zarb School through the Dual Degree Program, which enabled me to do so in five years — the best decision I ever made. When I entered the work force, I needed a Masters in order to be eligible for certain promotions so I was glad I completed it, as it enabled me to move up the ladder very quickly in my career.

I majored in marketing for both degrees. Naming my favorite courses is difficult, as I enjoyed many. Particular classes that stick out in my mind were my marketing class taught by Dr. Anil Mathur, my Internet marketing class taught by Dr. Joel Evans, my cultural marketing class taught by Dr. Boonghee Yoo, my advertising class taught by Dr. Chuck McMellon, my international marketing class with Dr. Benny Barak, my retail marketing class taught by Dr. Barry Berman, and my marketing class taught by Professor Linda Evans. The positive impact that each of these professors has had on me extended well beyond my career.

  • What is something that most people do not know about you?

I love to sing. I actually sang the national anthem at a Hofstra Lacrosse game as a student and previously auditioned for American Idol.

  • Any final thoughts?

Working with professors who have mentored me during my time as a student is an inspiring atmosphere to build a career. As we further the Zarb School’s mission of educating our students for personal and professional achievement, it is important that they always know that we listen, and they teach us many lessons as well.

 

Leave a Reply

