A Conversation with Zarb’s Assistant Dean for Administration Caligiure

Meet the People of Zarb: Assistant Dean Brian Caligiure

[Note: This is one in a series of posts to highlight the people who contribute to making the Zarb School of Business a special place.]

Here is our Q&A with Assistant Dean Caligiure.

bc_headshot

  • In your time at the Zarb School, you have had various positions. Could you tell us about your roles at Hofstra.

I began my career at Hofstra as a Computer Facilitator in the Zarb School. This position was responsible for all technology related support for faculty and staff, Web site management, and coordination of special technology projects.

I was then promoted to Instructional Technologist, which integrated my position with Faculty Computing Services in the Computer Center. In this role, my responsibilities grew to include classroom facilities management and maintenance, management of university-level IT projects and software and vendor management.

I have also been heavily involved with the Martin B. Greenberg Trading Room since its inception and continue to serve as its Technical Co-Director.

In addition to my current position as Assistant Dean for Administration of the Zarb School, I also enjoy teaching as an Adjunct Assistant Professor for the Department of Information Systems and Business Analytics.

  • What does your job as Assistant Dean for Administration encompass?

As the Assistant Dean for Administration, I am primarily responsible for managing Zarb’s operating budget, processing faculty compensation, course scheduling, and preparing copy for the undergraduate and graduate bulletins, as well as the curriculum process.

  • What is your proudest accomplishment at the Zarb School?

Since I’ve been Assistant Dean for Administration, I have had the opportunity to participate in a number of commencement ceremonies and have had the privilege to read student names during the ceremony. It’s especially rewarding to be able to participate in such a special way for those students with whom I have built strong relationships with in their time at Hofstra.

  • You earned both a BBA and MBA at the Zarb School. What were your majors and favorite courses?

I actually earned both my BBA and MBA in Business Computer Information Systems. My favorite undergraduate course was BCIS 120 with Professor Hardiman and my favorite graduate course was Accounting 230 with Dr. Jones.

  • What message do you have for fellow alumni?

The Zarb School of Business has changed significantly over the past few years; the Dean and the faculty are leading the school into exciting new areas. There are many wonderful events that we hold for alumni. If you haven’t been back in a while, please check them out!

  • What is something that most people do not know about you? 

My wife and I met in Dr. Zhang’s IB 150 class.

  • Any final thoughts?

Hofstra is a wonderful institution and a great place to work. I have had the opportunity to see it from several perspectives and there is nowhere else I would rather be.

 

Leave a Reply

